in ,

Himanta Biswa Sarma sworn-in as 15th Assam CM

A day after his appointment as Leader of the newly-elected BJP lawmakers in the state, Himanta Biswa Sarma was sworn in as the 15th Chief Minister of Assam on Monday

Office oath to the famed Srimanta Sankardeva Kalakshetra in Guwahati was administered by Governor Jagdish Mukhi.

Apart from Chief Minister, the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and the United People’s Democratic Party (UPPL) were also sworn in, 13 newly-elected members of BJP and their allies.

Ranjeet Kumar Dass, Atul Bora, U. G. Brahma, Parimal Suklabaidya, Keshb Mohan Patowary, Ranoj Pegu, Joga Mohan, Ajanta Neog, Pijush Hazarika, and Bimal Bora all participated among the 13 ministers.

In the previous Tarun Gogoi-led administrations, Neog entered the Bharatiya Janata Party weeks prior to recent Assembly polls.

President of the State BJP Dass, Pegu, and Singhal were first introduced as ministers.

The hour-long sword-in-ceremony included BJP President J.P. Nadda, former chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal, chief ministers from other countries in the North East, and a host of top dignitaries.

What do you think?

Written by Ankur J Kakoti


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

      CWC meet kicks off with a discussion on poll defeats

      PM wishes Assam CM Himanta expects momentum to NE development