in ,

Nagaland goes for total lockdown

Nagaland’s government has instituted a state-wide complete lockdown for eight days, though Assam and the other six northeastern states have increased curfew hours and imposed other restrictions in an effort to contain the alarming spread of Covid, officials said on Wednesday.

Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Tripura, Nagaland, and Manipur have all seen an increase in the number of new Covid cases recorded daily.

In Kohima, health officials announced that the state’s High-Powered Committee on Covid-19 has voted to enact a complete lockdown beginning at 6 p.m. on Friday and lasting until May 21.

According to officials in Guwahati, 5,215 new Covid cases were registered in the last week (May 5-May 11), compared to 3,466 in the previous week (April 28-May 4), and 2,333 in the previous week (April 21-April 27).

The Assam government released new standard operating procedures (SOPs) on Wednesday, effective immediately. Curfews around Assam have been advanced to 2 p.m. from the previous 6 p.m., according to the SOPs.

The revised SOPs, issued by Chief Secretary Jishnu Barua, stated that all shops and commercial establishments would close at 1 p.m. on all days rather than 2 p.m., that weekly markets would be prohibited for 15 days, that all educational institutions, including schools, colleges, and universities, would be required to have high-quality virtual options and would be prohibited from holding physical classes for 15 days, and that all government offices would be closed.

Bhaskar Jyoti Mahanta, the Director-General of Police, said on Wednesday that if anybody breaches the SOPs, the police will file an “attempt to murder” charge.

Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma assigned each of the 13 ministers to monitor Covid management in at least two districts, while he personally oversees pandemic-related actions and requirements in Majuli region, the world’s largest river island.

The Tripura government has designated three containment zones inside the Agartala Municipal Corporation region after enforcing a night curfew and other restrictions.

The government of Manipur has placed a complete curfew in seven of the state’s sixteen districts until May 17. The seven districts comprise Imphal West and Imphal East. The remaining districts will have a night curfew from 7 p.m. to 5 a.m.

The Meghalaya government expanded the lockdown in East Khasi Hills district, where Shillong is situated, till May 17.

In his order, Chief Secretary M.S Rao stated that weekend lockdowns will be implemented in the remaining ten districts on May 15 and 16. “Individual travel between states shall remain limited. This shall not extend to Assam, Tripura, Manipur, and Mizoram transit vehicles “As mentioned in the order.

Mizoram’s government has declared a state of full lockout until 4 a.m. on May 17, though Sikkim has placed similar restrictions until May 16. Arunachal Pradesh has enforced a night curfew until May 31 – from 6.30 p.m. to 5 a.m.

What do you think?

Written by Ankur J Kakoti


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

      No vaccine shortage in Assam

      New Cambridge tracker shows India Covid cases will decline by May 23