in , ,

Phani Bhushan Choudhury to be pro-tem Speaker

Governor Prof Jagdish Mukhi has convened a three-day Assam Assembly meet. This will be the 15th Assam Legislative Assembly’s inaugural session. The session is scheduled to begin on May 21.

According to reports, the newly elected 125 MLAs (with the exception of the pro-tem Speaker) will take the oath of secrecy on day one, May 21. The pro-tem Speaker will be sworn in prior to the start of the Assembly Session.

The Governor will address the Assembly on May 22, and a motion of thanks for the Governor’s speech has been set for May 24, the final day of the three-day Assembly session. Since May 23 is a Sunday, there will be no Assembly session.

According to sources, Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma has appointed Phani Bhushan Choudhury, a senior AGP representative, and eight-term Bongaigaon MLA, as the pro-tem Speaker. Former Digboi MLA Rameswar Dhanowar of the Congress party is the only MLA to have held an Assembly seat eight times in a row.

The BJP won 60 seats, the Congress won 29, the AIUDF won 16, the AGP won 9, the UPPL won 6, the BPF won 4, and the CPI-M won one seat. Akhil Gogoi, the Raijor Dal president, won the Sivasagar seat. This is classified as a self-contained unit.

What do you think?

Written by Ankur J Kakoti


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

      Second Wave of COVID Hit 4 Assam Police

      Bitcoin Price Drops After Report Binance Under US Probe, Tesla Fallout