Bengal Dominates Assam in Ranji Trophy Match

On the second day of the Ranji Trophy Group-B match at the ACA Stadium, Barsapara, Captain Manoj Tiwary’s century and Suraj Jaiswal’s superb all-round performance put Bengal in the driving seat against Assam. Bengal resumed from 242 for four and scored 405 in its first innings, while Assam tottered at 99 for eight at stumps.

Scoring Summary

Overnight batters Anustup Majumdar and Tiwary gathered 211 runs before the former fell to Mrinmoy Dutta. Last match’s centurion Abishek Porel departed soon. Tiwary patiently batted to achieve his 30th hundred (100, 264b, 9×4) and formed a 37-run partnership with Karan Lal before being dismissed by medium pacer Akash Sengupta. Karan (52, 113b, 8×4) and Jaiswal (52, 75b, 4×4, 2×6) combined again for another fruitful stand worth 74 runs.

Bowling Performance

Assam seamer Mukhtar Hussain captured two more wickets to return figures of four for 86. The Bengal new ball bowlers, Mohammad Kaif and Jaiswal, reduced Assam to four for 35 by the 10th over. Jaiswal underlined his utility by accounting for three of the four, all of them caught behind. Without batting mainstay and captain Riyan Parag, who got injured on Friday, Denish Das (50, 51b, 8×4) showed some aggression.

Assam’s Innings

Saahil Jain fought a lone battle to remain unbeaten on 36. Kaif, who had removed opener Rahul Hazarika in his first spell, claimed two lower order batters as well. Sitting pretty, Bengal remains hopeful of securing its first outright win.

See also  St. Patrick's High School Clinches Under-17 Girls Title in 62nd Subroto Cup

Score Summary

Bengal – 1st innings: Sourav Paul 12, Shreyansh Ghosh 13, Mohammad Kaif 2, Sudip Gharami 10, Anustup Majumdar 125, Manoj Tiwary 100, Abishek Porel 0, Karan Lal 52, Suraj Jaiswal 52, Ankit Mishra 0, Suman Das (not out) 1; Extras: 38, Total: 405.

Assam – 1st innings: Rishav Das 4, Rahul Hazarika 1, Denish Das 50, Akash Sengupta 0, Sumit Ghadigaonkar 1, Saahil Jain (batting) 36, Dharani Rabha 0, Mukhtar Hussain 3, Rahul Singh 1, Mrinmoy Dutta (batting) 0; Extras: 3, Total (for eight wickets in 34 overs): 99.

Bowling Summary

Bengal Bowling: Kaif 10-3-32-3, Jaiswal 9-1-25-3, Mishra 10-2-22-2, Suman 5-0-18-0.

Assam Bowling: Mukhtar 38.4-8-86-4, Mrinmoy 20-4-71-1, Parag 6-1-17-1, Rabha 14-1-54-2, Sengupta 18-5-59-1, Rahul 35-2-100-1.