India Chooses to Bat Against Afghanistan

India’s captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and elected to bat against Afghanistan in the third and final T20 International held in Bengaluru on January 17, 2024. This match marked an important event in the ongoing series between India and Afghanistan, as both teams aimed to secure victory. The Indian team introduced three new players into their XI, while Afghanistan also made significant changes to their lineup. Let’s take a closer look at the teams and the match outcome.

India vs. Afghanistan: Final T20 International

India’s captain Rohit Sharma made a strategic decision to bat after winning the toss, setting the stage for an intense battle against Afghanistan in the final T20 International. The match, held at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium, garnered significant attention from cricket enthusiasts worldwide. Both teams were determined to put up a strong performance and claim victory in this crucial fixture.

Indian Changes in XI

Sanju Samson, Avesh Khan, and Kuldeep Yadav joined the Indian XI in place of Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, and Jitesh Sharma. This decision reflected the Indian team’s commitment to optimizing their lineup and enhancing their chances of success. Each player’s role in the team’s strategy was essential, and their inclusion brought a fresh dynamic to the Indian squad.

Afghanistan’s Lineup Alterations

In response to India’s changes, Afghanistan also made three significant alterations to their lineup, signaling their intent to challenge the home team. The reshuffling of their squad demonstrated their determination to put up a tough fight and potentially upset the Indian team’s plans. The match was poised to be an exciting contest between two competitive sides.

See also  Australia Cricket Captain Pat Cummins Addresses 'Go Woke' Critics

Teams Lineup

India: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rohit Sharma (capt), Virat Kohli, Shivam Dube, Sanju Samson (wk), Rinku Singh, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Mukesh Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Avesh Khan

Afghanistan: Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Ibrahim Zadran (capt), Gulbadin Naib, Azmatullah Omarzai, Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Karim Janat, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Qais Ahmad, Mohammad Saleem Safi, Fareed Ahmad Malik.

As the two teams geared up for the crucial match, it was evident that both sides had made strategic changes in their respective lineups, highlighting their determination to secure victory.

For more detailed coverage of the match and the latest cricket news, visit