Saurashtra Favored in Vijay Hazare Trophy Opener Against Kerala

Vijay Hazare Trophy Group A Preview

Get ready for the action-packed Group A of the Vijay Hazare 50-over Trophy, as defending champion Saurashtra gears up to take on some fierce competition.

Defending Champions Saurashtra

Saurashtra, led by Jaydev Unadkat, the highest wicket-taker in the previous edition, is all set to defend their title in a competitive Group A. Unadkat will look to add more to his impressive domestic credentials and steer his team to victory in the opening fixture against Kerala at the Alur grounds.

Battle with Traditional Heavyweights Mumbai

Saurashtra will face a tough challenge from traditional heavyweights, Mumbai. Led by the experienced Ajinkya Rahane, the side’s success will depend on batters like Sarfaraz Ahmed, promising pacer Shivam Dube, and spinner Shams Mulani who will need to deliver strong performances. The absence of Suryakumar Yadav, Yashasvi Jaiswal, and Dhawal Kulkarni in the Mumbai squad might add an extra layer of challenge to their campaign.

Underdogs Kerala

Expect the underdogs, Kerala, to potentially spring a surprise in this tournament. Led by the explosive wicketkeeper-batter Sanju Samson, the team boasts a strong batting line-up with the likes of Rohan Kunnummal and Sachin Baby. All-rounder Shreyas Gopal, a former Karnataka representative, brings depth and experience to the team. Kerala will be aiming to surpass their previous performance and intend to advance further in the tournament after their early exit last year.

See also  ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Watch Live Cricket Online

Other Contenders

Other teams in the mix include Railways, Tripura, Pondicherry, Odisha, and Sikkim. Even though these teams did not qualify for the knockout rounds last year, they will be looking to make their mark in the competition this time around.

For more information about the Vijay Hazare Trophy, visit BCCI Official Website.

Source link