New Zealand Announces Spin-Heavy Squad for Bangladesh Tour with Santner and Ravindra’s Return

**New Zealand Spinner Mitchell Santner Recalled to Test Squad for Bangladesh Series**

Left-arm spinner Mitchell Santner has been called up to the New Zealand Test squad after more than two years. The selectors have chosen a spin-heavy side for the upcoming two-match series against Bangladesh, set to begin later this month. Santner, who last played a Test match against England at Lord’s in June 2021, will join Ajaz Patel and Ish Sodhi as the front-line spinners.

New Spin Options Boost New Zealand’s Squad

New Zealand’s selectors have also brought back off-spinning all-rounders Rachin Ravindra and Glenn Phillips to strengthen their spin options. Ravindra has been in outstanding form, accumulating an impressive 523 runs, including three centuries, in eight matches at the ongoing World Cup in India. He has also taken three wickets. Phillips, on the other hand, returns to the touring Test squad after a stint in Pakistan in December/January.

Kyle Jamieson Returns After Back Surgery

In addition to the spinners, New Zealand will welcome back the fit-again Kyle Jamieson. The fast bowler played a vital role in their 2021 World Test Championship victory before undergoing back surgery in February. Jamieson, who will join skipper Tim Southee and Matt Henry in a three-pronged pace attack, has an impressive record of 72 wickets in just 16 Tests. He was even named Player of the Match in their World Test Championship triumph against India.

See also  PM Modi to inaugurate cricket stadium in Varanasi

Selector Sam Wells Praises Spin Group

Black Caps selector Sam Wells expressed confidence in the spin group, saying, “We have a strong spin group that will offer good variety and options during the series.” With the inclusion of Santner, Ravindra, and Phillips, New Zealand will have a diverse range of spinners to choose from.

The two-match Test series against Bangladesh will mark the beginning of the third cycle of the World Test Championship for the Black Caps. The first Test is scheduled to take place in Sylhet from November 28, followed by the second Test in Dhaka from December 6. The coaching team, led by Luke Ronchi, will guide the team during this series, as regular head coach Gary Stead will return home after the World Cup in India.

New Zealand Test Squad:

Tim Southee (c), Tom Blundell (wk), Devon Conway, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Kane Williamson, Will Young.

Source link